home Home About FTA FTAs


Korea's FTAs in Force

Currently, 16 FTAs have been concluded with 57 countries (effectuated and agreed)

(As of November 2019)
Classification Countries Progress Significance
(16 FTAs with 57 countries)
Chile Effectuated
April 1, 2004
First FTA concluded Bridge-head for Latin American market penetration
Singapore Effectuated
March 2, 2006
Bridge-head for ASEAN market penetration
EFTA Effectuated
September 1, 2006
Bridge-head for Europe market penetration
ASEAN Effectuated
June 1, 2007
First FTA with world’s large economic bloc
India Effectuated
January 1, 2010
BRICs, huge market
EU(28countries) Effectuated
July 1, 2011
World’s largest economic bloc (based on GDP)
Peru Effectuated
August 1, 2011
Resource-affluent country Bridge-head for Latin American market penetration
U.S. Effectuated
March 15, 2012
Huge and advanced economy
Turkey Effectuated
May 1, 2013
Bridge-head for Europe and Central Asia market penetration
Australia Effectuated
December 12, 2012
Resource-affluent country Major market in Oceania
Canada Effectuated
January 1, 2015
Advanced country of North America
China Effectuated
December 20, 2015
Largest trading partner of Korea (As of 2015)
New Zealand Effectuated
December 20, 2015
Major market in Oceania
Vietnam Effectuated
December 20, 2015
Third largest investment destination of Korea (As of September 2015)
Colombia Effectuated
July 15, 2016
Resource-affluent country Emerging market of Central and South American market
5 countries in Central America Effectuated(Nicaragua, Honduras) October 1, 2019
Effectuated(Costa Rica) November 1, 2019
Creating a new market in Central America
(4 countries)
United Kingdom August 22, 2019
Signed in August 22, 2018
Maintain continuity of trade relations between Korea and the United Kingdom after Brexita
Israel March 13-15, 2018
6th negotiation
Creative economy model country
Indonesia CEPA October 8-10, 2019
10th CEP negotiation
Creative economy model country
RCEP August 4, 2019
3th negotiation
Contribution to economic integration in East Asia

1) EFTA(4 countries) : Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein
2) ASEAN(10 countries) : Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Vietnam, Thailand
3) RCEP(Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership) : Korea, 10 ASEAN member countries, China, Japan, India, Australia, New Zealand
4) 5 countries in Central America: Nicaragua, Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Panama
5) MERCOSUR(5 countries) : Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay. Venezuela (Exclude of Negotiation)

Source : MOTIE